Husqvarna Norden 901


Revue du lancement international de la presse - São Miguel, Açores

Husqvarna Norden 901
L'avis de Knox

ÉCRIT PAR Aaron Travell

PUBLIÉ : 17 novembre 2021

La semaine dernière, j'ai assisté au lancement international de l'une des motos Adventure les plus attendues de ces dernières années, la Husqvarna Norden 901.

Avant de nous pencher sur les performances de la Husqvarna Norden 901, nous devons reconnaître à quel point elle était attendue. J'étais présent à l'EICMA en 2019 lorsque le rideau s'est levé sur la Norden, le buzz et le battage médiatique autour d'elle étaient phénoménaux et c'était sans doute la machine dont on parlait le plus au salon ! Ce qui est plus étonnant, c'est que le modèle de production qui est mis sur le marché et celui que nous avons roulé, est remarquablement proche de la moto conceptuelle que tout le monde a adorée. En chair et en os, elle est fantastique, avec un design Husqvarna très clair et épuré et une belle finition, c'est tout simplement une belle chose à regarder et elle apporte quelque chose de très différent à l'offre actuelle de motos d'aventure.

Notre départ s'est fait sur la magnifique île de Sao Miguel dans les Açores, un endroit remarquable au milieu de l'Océan Atlantique et un lieu presque parfait pour se familiariser avec la Norden 901. Au cours de nos deux jours et de nos 400 km de conduite, nous avons fait l'expérience d'un mélange de terrains, allant de belles routes de montagne avec un excellent asphalte, à un asphalte couvert de mousse et cassé, en passant par des sentiers de terre, certains plus accidentés que d'autres, du sable et même quelques traversées de rivières ! La plupart du temps, le sol était mouillé et nous avons testé tous les temps. Il est difficile de penser à un autre pays qui aurait pu offrir un tel mélange de conditions météorologiques et de conduite réelles.

La première impression que l'on a eue en passant la jambe sur la moto et en la conduisant sur la route est impressionnante. La Norden 901 a hérité des piles à combustible à faible poids que l'on retrouve sur certains produits KTM Adventure. Ces caractéristiques, combinées à un guidon large offrant un excellent rayon de braquage, une selle basse et confortable et un moteur sympathique, en font une moto sur laquelle presque tout le monde se sentira immédiatement à l'aise.

The Norden 901 is pitched as a long-distance travel motorcycle and to this end, it hits the nail firmly on the head. Seemingly anything you throw at the Norden on the road, it gobbles up. From lazy and long stretches on the motorway, spirited riding on mountain roads, slippery, wet, broken-up and bumpy asphalt and anything in between, it’s simply brilliant. Some of the ingredients that make it so include the standard fitment cruise control, comfortable riding position and supportive seat, beautifully refined suspension package, up/down quickshifter and one of the best engines in the business. I can’t believe I am writing this about an adventure bike, but another trick the Norden has up its sleeve is its stability; its ridiculously stable! At high speeds (I won’t disclose how fast 😊), full throttle and through fast mountain passes, the Norden is planted. Behind the scenes, the Norden has been designed with large but subtle cut out’s in the front fairing aiding airflow through and round the bike, simultaneously providing downforce and is fitted with a steering damper. Whatever they’ve done, its very effective and makes high speed riding very confidence inspiring.

Tout cela en fait une machine qui est clairement capable de parcourir de longues distances. Le premier jour, nous avons parcouru 270 km et je suis reparti avec l'impression que je pourrais recommencer, et avec plus d'un tiers du réservoir d'essence restant, le Norden était manifestement toujours enthousiaste ! C'est un vélo inspirant, qui vous incite à poursuivre le soleil couchant, à découvrir de nouveaux endroits et à profiter de chaque kilomètre parcouru.

Le bicylindre 890 est un moteur de rêve qui développe 105 ch et 100 Nm de couple. C'est un moteur qui offre un grand raffinement, beaucoup de puissance et de vitesse, et qui le fait d'une manière telle que n'importe qui, du débutant à l'expert, trouvera qu'il inspire confiance et qu'il est excitant à la fois. Vous voulez vous balader, pas de problème, rester sur l'autoroute pendant des heures, vérifiez, faites un énorme wheeling, c'est fait ! C'est un moteur très divertissant qui donne au Norden un niveau d'excitation auquel je ne m'attendais pas forcément.

La maniabilité du Norden est également fantastique. Bien qu'il s'agisse d'un vélo d'aventure doté de suspensions à long débattement et d'une roue avant de 21 pouces, il n'aura jamais l'air d'un vélo nu, mais il est surprenant de constater à quel point il est possible de le bousculer. La moto change très bien de direction, garde une belle ligne en milieu de virage et est remarquablement stable. Je ne pense pas que les propriétaires puissent raisonnablement demander plus.

A ce stade, il convient de mentionner la suspension WP Apex. Quelle qualité ! Avec 220 mm à l'avant et 215 mm à l'arrière, il y en a clairement beaucoup et en pratique, il semble flotter sur tout et n'importe quoi, se sent très raffiné et pourtant assez contrôlé pour obtenir un bon rythme rapide. J'ai sauté le Norden à plusieurs reprises sans qu'il ne s'effondre et je l'ai poussé assez fort sur la route et il s'est montré très calme. Pour les pilotes qui sont beaucoup plus lourds que moi et qui prévoient de transporter beaucoup de bagages, les ressorts peuvent facilement être augmentés chez votre concessionnaire Husqvarna et pour les pilotes qui veulent aller jusqu'au bout du mode Rallye, il y aura un kit de suspension WP Pro disponible plus tard. Le kit de pièces WP Pro ne sera pas bon marché et nécessitera de nouveaux colliers de serrage, une béquille latérale et des conduites de frein plus longues, mais il permettra d'effectuer des sauts massifs et satisfera les pilotes de tout-terrain aventureux, le plaçant dans une catégorie similaire à celle de la KTM 890 Adventure R Rally.

Heureusement, Sao Miguel offre une grande variété de terrains tout-terrain, de la terre lisse au sable profond, en passant par les ornières et les sentiers plus techniques. Les lecteurs de Knox savent que je suis personnellement très sensible aux vélos d'aventure et au tout-terrain, mes antécédents de blessures à la colonne vertébrale et une opération de la colonne vertébrale expliquant mon raisonnement. En gardant cela à l'esprit, comme toujours, j'étais un peu hésitant à propos du Norden et de son poids de 204 kg à sec. Cependant, ma prudence était mal placée, et j'ai passé les deux jours à renforcer ma confiance dans ses capacités et je l'ai trouvé meilleur que je n'aurais jamais pu l'espérer. Le nouveau moteur 890 est venu s'ajouter au poids du centre de gravité bas et à l'excellent rayon de braquage. Il est nettement plus maniable que le précédent moteur 790 qui avait tendance à décrocher à basse vitesse. Avec le Norden, vous pouvez rouler à très basse vitesse en 2 minutes.nd La vitesse de croisière, l'embrayage et l'accélération sur le terrain sont autant d'éléments qui permettent à la moto d'évoluer. Quand j'y pense, la plupart des fois où j'ai fait tomber des motos d'aventure, c'était parce qu'elles avaient calé. Par conséquent, je n'ai pas été près de faire tomber ou d'écraser la Norden 901, j'ai acquis une grande confiance dans un environnement tout-terrain et, bien qu'elle ne sera jamais aussi performante que ma 701 Enduro, je suis sûr qu'elle est aussi performante, sinon plus, que n'importe quelle moto d'aventure existante. S'il s'agissait de ma propre moto et que je savais que j'allais l'utiliser en tout-terrain, j'opterais probablement pour un pneu tout-terrain plus agressif car je voudrais un peu plus de mordant, mais c'est un choix personnel.

L'électronique fournit également une base fantastique pour la conduite en tout-terrain, le mode tout-terrain sélectionné et l'ABS tout-terrain, vous pouvez réaliser une glissade assez impressionnante avec le filet de sécurité inclus et l'ABS tout-terrain permet un freinage brusque avant que l'interférence n'intervienne et la possibilité de déraper à l'arrière.

En parlant d'électronique, la Norden est équipée jusqu'aux dents. Régulateur de vitesse, levier de vitesses haut/bas, excellents modes de conduite, régulation du patinage (MSR), cartographie des gaz (sur route - hors route, etc.), le tout affiché sur un superbe écran TFT de 5 pouces redessiné. En optant pour le mode Explorer, vous pouvez moduler le degré de contrôle de la traction. Comme nous passions souvent d'un terrain sur route à un terrain hors route sans préavis, j'ai surtout utilisé le mode hors route et l'ABS hors route et je n'ai pas eu besoin de beaucoup plus pendant les deux jours. Il a permis un bon et sûr power slide, un freinage fort avec même quelques arrêts de roulage, des dérapages de la roue arrière et bien sûr de gros wheelings ! Si j'ai l'occasion de tester le Norden à nouveau dans le futur, j'essaierai probablement les réglages les plus bas du mode Explorer pour voir si je ne peux pas obtenir un meilleur powerlide !

Par ailleurs, et c'est probablement important si vous faites de l'aventure, certaines des dernières motos équipées d'électronique moderne n'aiment pas être démarrées en trombe pour une raison ou pour une autre. J'ai testé la Norden et oui, elle démarre en trombe sans problème, mais la deuxième vitesse est la bonne pour cette moto.

Husqvarna a intelligemment placé son dernier modèle en plein milieu du marché très populaire des motos d'aventure, mais je pense que son attrait est plus large que celui des "ADV riders". Je vois le Norden plaire et être utilisé par les citadins, les navetteurs, les vrais pilotes d'aventure qui veulent faire le tour du monde, et aussi par les pilotes normaux qui veulent juste un bon vélo qui peut tout faire et qui a l'air bien.

Alors que j'ai parlé avec lyrisme du Norden 901, y a-t-il des inconvénients ? En toute honnêteté, c'est une moto très difficile à critiquer et qui m'a époustouflé dans tant de domaines que je suis vraiment réticent. D'un côté, les freins pourraient avoir un peu plus de mordant, il y a de la puissance, mais peut-être que sur la route, en poussant, on aimerait avoir un peu plus de mordant. Mais d'un autre côté, une application plus douce des freins est avantageuse en tout-terrain, donc tout compte fait, je pense que les réglages sont probablement corrects.

S'il s'agissait de ma propre moto, je changerais probablement les pneus pour quelque chose d'un peu plus mordant en dehors de la route sur un terrain glissant.

Enfin, en termes de poids, avec 204 kg à sec, la Norden est un peu plus lourde que ce que l'on aurait pu espérer, mais je pense honnêtement que c'est un point important car en pratique, la Norden masque incroyablement bien son poids grâce à une ingénierie intelligente et, en tant que pilote, vous ne le sentez jamais.

Une autre publication britannique s'est montrée assez critique à l'égard de la Norden lors de ce même lancement, mais cette critique peut être largement écartée et ne reflète pas la réalité de ce qui est une moto incroyable.

Le véritable test décisif pour cette moto se résume à la question de savoir si j'en achèterais une moi-même. La réponse est absolument oui ! Qu'il s'agisse de son look, de sa conduite ou des possibilités qu'elle offre en termes d'aventure à moto, je l'adore et je pense que nous allons en voir beaucoup sur nos routes dans un avenir très proche !

Pour les spécifications complètes du Norden 901, voir ici, https://www.husqvarna-motorcycles.com/en-int/models/travel/norden-901-2022.html.

Nous espérons que vous avez apprécié cet article et nous vous donnons rendez-vous la prochaine fois !

Produits Knox portés sur le test

IMG_8083 web

Écrit par Aaron Travell

1 commentaire

  1. Andy

    Excellent commentaire ! Merci. Les autres commentaires n'étaient pas très instructifs et l'un d'eux se plaignait de la taille du réservoir. J'ai préféré votre article aux autres. J'ai donc pris ma décision et je vais essayer d'obtenir un acompte sur l'un d'entre eux avant qu'ils ne s'envolent tous ! A bientôt !

Poster un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Postes connexes

préchargeur

Husqvarna Norden 901


Review from the International Press Launch - São Miguel, Azores

Husqvarna Norden 901
The review from Knox

WRITTEN BY Aaron Travell

PUBLISHED: November 17th, 2021

Last week, I went to the international press launch of one of the most hotly anticipated Adventure motorcycles in recent years, the Husqvarna Norden 901.

Before we get into how the Husqvarna Norden 901 performs, we have to acknowledge just how much anticipation there has been for it. I was there working at EICMA in 2019 when the curtain was lifted on the Norden, the buzz and hype around it was phenomenal and was arguably the most talked about machine of the show! What is more amazing, is that the production model that is being brought to the market and the one we rode, is remarkably close to the concept bike that everyone loved. In the flesh, it looks fantastic, with very clear and clean Husqvarna design language and beautiful finishing, its just a lovely thing to look at and brings something very different to the current Adventure bike offering.

Our launch was in the beautiful Sao Miguel Island in the Azores, a remarkable place in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean and provided a near perfect location to get to grips with the Norden 901. In our 2 days and approx. 400km of riding, we experienced a mixture of terrain, from beautiful mountain roads with excellent tarmac, to moss covered and broken up asphalt, through to dirt trails, some more rutted than others, sand and even a few river crossings! Most of the time the ground was wet, and we had all weathers on test. It’s hard to think of another country which would have provided such a mix of real-world riding and weather conditions.

First impressions of swinging a leg over the bike and riding it down the road are impressive. The Norden 901 has inherited the low weight bearing fuel cells that we see on some of the KTM Adventure products. This combines with wide handlebars with an excellent turning circle, a low and comfortable seat and a friendly engine characteristic to make a bike that almost anyone should feel instantly at home on.

The Norden 901 is pitched as a long-distance travel motorcycle and to this end, it hits the nail firmly on the head. Seemingly anything you throw at the Norden on the road, it gobbles up. From lazy and long stretches on the motorway, spirited riding on mountain roads, slippery, wet, broken-up and bumpy asphalt and anything in between, it’s simply brilliant. Some of the ingredients that make it so include the standard fitment cruise control, comfortable riding position and supportive seat, beautifully refined suspension package, up/down quickshifter and one of the best engines in the business. I can’t believe I am writing this about an adventure bike, but another trick the Norden has up its sleeve is its stability; its ridiculously stable! At high speeds (I won’t disclose how fast 😊), full throttle and through fast mountain passes, the Norden is planted. Behind the scenes, the Norden has been designed with large but subtle cut out’s in the front fairing aiding airflow through and round the bike, simultaneously providing downforce and is fitted with a steering damper. Whatever they’ve done, its very effective and makes high speed riding very confidence inspiring.

This all makes for a machine that is clearly capable of long-distance travel. Our first day was 270km and I got off feeling like I could do it all again and with over 1/3 of a tank of fuel left, the Norden was clearly still eager! It’s an inspiring bike to ride, one that inspires you to chase the sunset, discover new places and enjoy every mile along the way.

The 890 twin is a peach of a motor, kicking out 105hp and 100Nm of torque. It’s a powerplant that provides massive refinement, bags of power and speed with entertainment and somehow does it in such a way that anyone from beginner to expert will find it both confidence inspiring and thrilling simultaneously. Want to pootle around, no problem, sit on a motorway for hours, check, pull a massive wheelie, done! It’s a highly entertaining motor and gives the Norden a level of excitement I wasn’t necessarily expecting.

The handling of the Norden is also fantastic. While it’s an Adventure bike with long travel suspension and a 21” front wheel, it can never feel like a naked bike, but it’s surprising just how much of a hustle you can get on with it. The bike changes direction very well, holds a lovely line mid corner and is remarkably stable. I don’t think owners could realistically ask for any more.

At this point, we should mention the WP Apex suspension. What a quality set up! With 220mm up front and 215mm at the rear there is clearly plenty of it and in practice, it seems to float over anything and everything, feels very refined and yet controlled enough to get a good fast pace on. I jumped the Norden quite a few times and it didn’t bottom out and pushed it fairly hard on road and it was really composed. For riders who are much heavier than me and planning to carry a lot of luggage, spring rates can easily be increased at your local Husqvarna dealership and for riders wanting to go full-on Rally mode, there will be a WP Pro parts suspension kit available down the line. The WP pro parts kit won’t be cheap and will require new triple clamps, side stand and longer brake lines, but will cater for massive jumps and satisfy the hardcore Adventure Off road riders out there, putting it in a bracket similar to the KTM 890 Adventure R Rally.

Fortunately, Sao Miguel offered plenty of variety of off-road terrain too, we had everything from smooth dirt to deep sand and rutted, more technical trails. Viewers of Knox content will know I am personally quite sensitive to Adventure bikes and off roading, a history of spine injuries and a spine operation providing my reasoning. With that in mind, as always, I was a little tentative about the Norden and its 204kg dry weight. However, my caution was ill-placed, and I spent the 2 days consistently building up my confidence in its capabilities and found it better than I could have ever hoped. Combining with the low centre of gravity weight and excellent turning circle was the new 890 motor. Its significantly more tractable than the previous 790 engine which had a tendency to stall at low speeds. With the Norden you can run very slow speeds in 2nd gear, feather the clutch and just drive-up whichever terrain you find yourself on. Come to think of it, on most circumstances I have dropped adventure bikes, it’s been due to stalling them. As a result, I didn’t come anywhere close to dropping or crashing the Norden 901, I built up a huge amount of trust in an off-road setting and while its never going to be as ultimately capable as my 701 Enduro, I am sure it’s as, if not more, capable than any Adventure bike out there. If it was my own bike and I knew I was planning to take it off road, I would probably opt for a more aggressive off-road tyre as I wanted a bit more bite, but that is a personal choice.

The electronics also provide a fantastic foundation for off road riding, off road mode selected and off road ABS, you can pull off a pretty impressive power slide with safety net included and the off road ABS allows hard braking before interference kicks in and the ability to skid the rear.

Speaking of electronics, the Norden is loaded to the teeth. Cruise control, up/down quickshifter, excellent rider modes, slip regulation (MSR), throttle maps (On road – off road etc) all displayed on a beautiful and re-designed 5” TFT display. Opt for the Explorer mode and you can modulate the degree of traction control. Because we were often transitioning from on to off road terrain with little notice, I mostly used off road mode and off road ABS and wasn’t really left wanting much more over the 2 days. It allowed a good and safe power slide, hard braking with even a few rolling stoppies, rear wheel skids and of course big wheelies! If I get to test the Norden again in the future, Ill probably try some of the lower settings in Explorer mode to see if I can’t get a better powerslide on!

As a sub note and probably important if you are doing genuine adventure riding, some of the latest motorcycles with modern electronics don’t like to be bump started for some reason. I tested the Norden and yes it bump starts no problem, but 2nd gear is the right one for this bike.

Husqvarna have cleverly slapped their latest model right in the middle of the uber popular Adventure bike market, but I think its appeal is wider than just designated “ADV riders”. I can see the Norden appealing to and being used by Urban and city riders, commuters, real Adventure riders wanting to ride around the world, and also normal riders who just want a great bike that will do everything and look great.

While I’ve been waxing lyrical about the Norden 901, are there any downsides? In all honesty, it’s a very difficult bike to make any criticisms of and blew me away in so many areas I am genuinely reluctant. On one hand the brakes could do with a touch more bite, there is power there, but perhaps on the road pushing on you’d like a touch more. But then on the other hand, a softer brake application is advantageous in an off-road setting, so on balance, I think the set-up is probably about right.

If it was my own bike, I’d probably swap the tyres out for something with a bit more bite off road on slippery terrain.

Finally, weight wise, at 204kg dry, the Norden tips the scales slightly heavier than most would have hoped for, but my honest opinion is that this is largely a moot point as in practice the Norden masks its weight incredibly well with clever engineering and as a rider you never feel it.

There is another UK publication that has been quite critical of the Norden from this same launch, but this can largely be discounted and doesn’t reflect the reality of what is an incredible motorcycle.

The real litmus test for this bike comes down to the question of whether I would buy one myself? The answer is absolutely yes! From its looks, to the way it rides, to the possibilities it creates in terms of real motorcycle adventure, I love it and I think we are going to see a lot of these on our roads in the very near future!

For full spec of the Norden 901, please see here, https://www.husqvarna-motorcycles.com/en-int/models/travel/norden-901-2022.html.

Hope you enjoyed this review and we’ll see you next time!

Knox products worn on Test

IMG_8083 web

Written by Aaron Travell

1 comment

  1. Andy

    Excellent review! Thanks. Other reviews have been less than informative and one complained about the size of the tank. I believe your review over the others. This has basically made up my mind and I am going to try to get a deposit on one before they are all snatched up! Cheers!

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related posts